• Current Minimum Wage Laws In California

    California Minimum Wage Laws minimum wage laws

    Effective January 1, 2017 the minimum wage for all industries in California is $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and remains at $10 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees. However, depending on where you work, your employer might be required to pay you more than the state minimum wage.

    Background on California’s Minimum Wage Increases

    On April 4, 2016, California Governor Jerry Brown signed a new minimum wage bill. The bill raised the state’s minimum wage for employers with more than 25 employees to $10 per hour effective July 1, 2016 and $10.50 per hour effective January 1, 2017. The minimum wage will then increase by an additional $1 per hour every year until it reaches $15 in 2022.

    Date                         Minimum Wage for Employers with 25 Employees or Less Minimum Wage for Employers with 26 Employees or More
    January 1, 2017 $10.00/hour $10.50/hour
    January 1, 2018 $10.50/hour $11.00/hour
    January 1, 2019 $11.00/hour $12.00/hour
    January 1, 2020 $12.00/hour $13.00/hour
    January 1, 2021 $13.00/hour $14.00/hour
    January 1, 2022 $14.00/hour $15.00/hour
    January 1, 2023 $15.00/hour  

    City or County Minimum Wage Laws

    Since California’s current law requires a higher minimum wage rate than does the federal law, all employers in California who are subject to both laws must pay the state minimum wage rate because it is higher; unless their employees are exempt under California law. In the same respect, if a city or county has adopted a higher minimum wage, employees must be paid the local wage if it is higher than the state or federal minimum wage.

    Several California cities have adopted such ordinances which establish a higher minimum wage. Many of these ordinances called for an increase effective July 1, 2017. This means that employees should be paid more if they are working within one of these local jurisdictions. Local governments that have increased the minimum wage effective July 1, 2017 include:

    Los Angeles City
    For Employers with 26 or More Employees: $12/hour   For Employers with 25 or Fewer Employees: $10.50/hour

    Los Angeles County (Unincorporated Areas)
    For Employers with 26 or More Employees: $12/hour

    For Employers with 26 or More Employees: $12/hour
    For Employers with 25 or Fewer Employees: $10.50/hour

    For Employers with 26 or More Employees: $12/hour
    For Employers With 25 or Fewer Employees: $10.50/hour

    San Francisco

    San Jose

    San Leandro

    Santa Monica
    For Employers with 26 or More Employees: $12/hour
    For Employers with 25 or Fewer Employees: $10.50/hour

    US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances

    California Employment Law

    California employers should ensure compensation plans are compliant with local, state and federal laws. Similarly, employees in California should keep abreast of wage laws to ensure they are compensated appropriately under California law.  Should you have questions about California’s employment laws, don’t hesitate to contact leading California employment lawyers at Kingsley & Kingsley. Call and speak to an experienced California lawyer toll-free at (888) 500-8469 or click here to contact us via email.

    More information on wage and hour laws in California.

    Kingsley & Kingsley

    16133 Ventura Boulevard, Suite 1200
    Encino, California 91436
    Phone: 888-500-8469
    Local: 818-990-8300 (Los Angeles Co.)

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Need answers now?

We are here to answer your questions, discuss your circumstances, and help you.

Call toll-free:

We also take most cases on a contingency fee basis, which means that you do not pay any fees unless you win or recover compensation.

We understand. You may be going through a difficult time. A California attorney at our law firm can meet with you for a free initial consultation - contact us here.